Honoring 50 National Honor Society Inductees!

Fifty Colchester High School students were recently inducted into National Honor Society!

The National Honor Society (NHS)—which has chapters in all fifty states as well as in many US territories and in Canada—recognizes high school students in grades 10–12 who have exhibited outstanding accomplishments in scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

This prestigious affiliation can only be obtained after a stringent selection process. In order to be considered for induction, candidates must detail their achievements in service and leadership and must meet the cumulative grade-point average requirement. Input about the candidates from faculty members can also be submitted to the local NHS chapter’s faculty council for consideration, and in some cases, the chapter’s faculty council may even interview candidates. The local NHS chapter’s faculty council deliberates the candidates’ qualifications before voting whether to invite a candidate for formal induction.

NHS inductees assume a number of obligations as a condition of their membership; along with maintaining the standards by which they were selected (failure to do so can result in discipline and/or dismissal), membership includes such responsibilities as conducting service projects for their school or community as well as individual service projects, and members attend regular meetings with the NHS’s local chapter. Inducted members enjoy a number of benefits as a result of their affiliation with the National Honor Society—including access to a number of scholarship programs.

We are pleased to announce the 2013/2014 National Honor Society inductees!

Josephine Ames
Andre Amrain
Alexander Barrett
Connor Barton
Julia Bessy
Connor Breen
Tyler Breen
Henry Butler
Sarah Campbell
Michael Chambers
Robert Chase
Corinne Colgrove
Bryce Colvin
Thomas Condon
Elizabeth Connors
Alison Davis
Kevin Desmond
Cady Dubuque
Hannah Echo
Mark Gauthier
Dakota Gorkun
Ellis Igneri
Cassandra LaBonte
Erik Lagerquist
Timothy Lewis
Patrick McHugh
Jennifer McNall
Margaret McNeil
Chelsea Mead
Liam Mooney
Samrety Nguon
Quinn O’Reilly
Andrew Pike
Allison Pilcher
Mirela Poljak
Madeline Powell
Chris Prado
Ellen Rathe
Alexina Richard
Hannah Rogers
Nigel Sarrazin
Rachel Scibek
Benjamin Seaman
Austin Simeck
Sophia Simkins
Hannah Spence
Destyni Travers
Rexana Vachereau
Janice Wood
Kiera Zehnacker

Congratulations to all of the inductees, and best wishes!

Your schools and your town are working hard to engage our community. Please encourage your friends and family to subscribe to The Spotlight. When we’re all informed, we make a stronger community!

Comments are closed.

Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by e-mail!

Join 1,282 other followers


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,282 other followers

%d bloggers like this: